Something I don’t understand

Before I started this blog, I have posted many articles about violence toward women only to find comments like “What about the violence toward men that women do”. My articles intent are to hopefully have men embrace notion of a progressive masculinities that share in the goals of feminism and womanism. Personally speaking I have victimized far more women in my lifetime than I have been victimized by them. I have been emotionally and physically abusive. It wasn’t until I confronted these issues inside of me that I was able to redefine myself to a more progressive masculinity. One where I can cry, show emotion, and who can resist and challenge the sexism, misogyny and patriarchal norms of our society. My sense is that while most men are willing to acknowledge unfair treatment of women, discrimination on the basis of gender, they are usually reluctant to admit that hatred of women is encouraged because it helps maintain the structure of male dominance. All I want to do is place accountability and bring attention to larger structures of domination and the individuals who are hierarchically placed to maintain and perpetuate the values that uphold these exploitative and oppressive systems.  Feel me….

Published in: on October 17, 2007 at 11:55 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lrwebb.wordpress.com/2007/10/17/something-i-dont-understand/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yah, I love the distraction… Like, that some women beat men makes the men who beat women not a problem or something…

  2. Preaching to the choir:

    According to the Bureau of Justice Statistics, in 2001, women accounted for 85 percent of the victims of intimate partner violence and men accounted for approximately 15 percent of the victims.
    Even allowing for the fact that female-on-male partner violence is probably underreported due to cultural conditions such as gender roles (and ignoring the fact that heterosexual female victims often don’t report domestic violence either, and that many male victims of partner violence are homosexual), it’s still a mighty big stretch for anyone to believe that would account for that 70% difference.

    I’ll acknowledge that female-on-male violence exists and that it’s a problem that needs to be addressed. It stems from the very cultural influences, stereotypes, and binary gender roles that feminism strives to undo. The idea that it’s not possible for a woman to physically harm a man for example or if a man is hurt by a woman or complains about a woman hitting him he’s a “wimp.”

    “But they do it too” doesn’t make either problem go away.


Leave a Reply

