Hello world!

My blog is my declaration of independence.  Being a black male feminist shapes my identity, my choices and my work.  Being a feminist has granted me freedom from society’s expected norms and values.  I feel like identifying myself as a black, male feminist does not fully express the diversity of my life but it puts into context my experience as a human being on this earth.  Both race and gender are social constructs that I refuse to accept.  I believe I take their power away and define a new progressive masculinity by adding feminist.  During the civil rights movement there were white people who became a part of the movement.  At anytime they could have left and been a part of the “white world”. The same is true for me.  I can leave at anytime and embrace the patriarchy.  Just like many white people in the civil rights struggle, I choose not to.   I don’t view feminism as a political avenue.  It has become a way of life.  I am always confronted with the question “How can a man be a feminist?”.  My answer is “How can a man not be?  Especially a black man.” Hopefully through this blog I can continue detoxify myself of the patriarchal socialization and help others as well.  Welcome and enjoy……

Published in: on September 15, 2007 at 1:46 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lrwebb.wordpress.com/2007/09/15/hello-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. hey, thanks for starting this. definitely looking forward to hearing what you have to say.

  2. Thanks for stopping by

  3. Im glad you started this. I’ve read books by afew self proclaimed black male feminists and a blog would be a great way to keep up! Take care!


Leave a Reply

