October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month

Published in: on October 11, 2008 at 12:54 am  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://lrwebb.wordpress.com/2008/10/11/october-is-domestic-violence-awareness-month/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey, excellent BLOG. You may be interested in this.

    http://www.time.com/time/nation/article/0,8599,1848422,00.html

    I pinged an email off to TIME about it. The headline reads, “Murder-Suicide in California: A Tragedy of the Financial Crisis?”

    My answer: No, it’s a tragedy of men’s violence against women.

    I requested that TIME think twice about downplaying the horrendous acts of murder of women and children by men by even suggesting the financial crisis comes even close to being an excuse.

    They also report that one of LAPD’s fine officers spoke of “a tragedy that had befallen him and taken out of peerspective”, and no mentionn of the tragedy that had befallen 3 children and 2 women!!! TIME preferred to give printing space to yet again, mention how much of a kind hearted and gentle, compassionate father he was.

    I requested that the media please refrain from building a relationship between domestic bliss and extreme violence.

    Anyway, keep up the good work, I’ll be back for another visit at another time.

    Lynn

  2. Hey, Just wanted to say you are doing an amazing job, you are supporting a great cause. I am proud to see a man who is secure in calling himself a feminist.

    Bless, keep up the good work.

  3. As a survivor of domestic abuse (25 years) I want to applaud you for speaking out for so many that feel they have no “voice”.

    The women caught in this cycle of violence truly believe there is ‘no way out’…especially within certain circles.

    My “ex” and I were both ordained into the ministry several decades ago. This type situation has it’s own set of pecularities. Yet, like everyone else, it’s assumed it’s somehow the fault of the victim.

    Personally, living outside the USA only compounded the difficulty. I thought, perhaps, once we moved back to the USA (2005) things would get better. I was WRONG…it was the opposite. The bottom quickly dropped out of my life. (fractured eye-socket and broken jaw as the result of being hit with a hammer).

    Jump ahead a bit…I am now remarried to the most amazing guy on the planet. NEVER…did I think a relationship could be like this. I feel as if I’d waited my whole life for him.

    There really are no words that I find adequate to express my gratitude to you for “sounding the alarm”…simply to say thank you is an understatement of vast proportions.

    Kindest Regards,

    Michelle


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

